Winter Beer Festival – Yes, I Actually Made a Spreadsheet

Until last Friday, I was saddened every time someone asked me if I was going to the Winter Michigan Festival. Why? Because my answer was no…but like I said, that was until last Friday. Thanks to the generosity of a friend, I have a ticket.

Now the Winter Beer Festival is no small animal to tame. It is a beast of fermented burden. And by burden, I mean a challenge to the indecisive: ME! Knowing this about myself, I took the time to make a spreadsheet (nerdy…so what!) with every brewery and the beer they’ll have available. After that, I printed it out to go over with a fine tooth comb, just like the one used in Spaceballs. Upon the first of many drafts, I have narrowed down the 452 beers to around 60 that I would love to try. My work is not over yet, but I’m getting there.

Why am I doing this (aside from being beer crazy)? Because the selection isn’t about quantity. It’s about quality. Some unbelievable beers will be on tap, some that I have had before and some that I have been longing to taste…and I want to make the best use of my time and strategy to be able to try the ones I want to taste the most.

If you’re heading to the Winter Beer Festival as well, I recommend coming up with a game plan. That doesn’t mean you have to do a spreadsheet beer nerd-out (If you’d like, you’re more than welcome to use mine: pdf link below), but a little agenda might add to a great festibeer experience. Have fun!

Cheers!

Michigan Beer Festival 2012 Tap List

About thebeertruck

Avid beer drinker, trader, and lover of all things hops.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

